Maths Starter of the Day

Many teachers around the state have recently had interactive whiteboards installed, yet are still a little unsure of how to incorporate them in their daily teaching.  A fantastic site that I found through Twitter recently was the Maths Starter of the Day website.  The concept behind the site is incredibly simple, and as the name suggests, is one problem for the students to work on each day.  Fabulous to put up on the interactive whiteboard first thing in the morning to get students settled and straight into independent work.  Who knows?  We may even see some improved results come NAPLAN time!

Beware … some of these problems are quite tricky, so you are best to view them beforehand!  Don’t forget to scroll down to find the answers!

I love this concept, but I am thinking that I’ll need to go through the archives and possibly create my own whiteboard file that has more tailored activities for my year level. I’ll let you know how I go! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 290 other followers

