Jing – Quick and Easy Screen Capture tool

Very often, I find myself looking for a new web tool that will make my life easier … because when you spend as much time online as I do, you want any help you can get!! 🙂  Recently, I came across a fantastic little download, through one of my discussion lists, that has saved me quite a lot of time taking screen captures, pasting them to publisher, cropping and then saving.  This wonderful little tool lets me just draw a square around what I want to capture, and then crops and saves it all for me to a nice, crisp .png file – FANTASTIC!

‘What is this wonderful little download?’ I hear you ask.  Well, it is called Jing, and could not be simpler to use!

The free version is great, and allows you to do the basics.  For those of you who tweet, you will be amazed at how simple things just became!

For creating ‘how to’ files, the screen capture that Jing takes also allows you to add arrows, text etc (see below) to your image as well – such a timesaver!

Already, this tool has saved me SO much time.  I hope you find it useful too. 🙂

Posted on 12/10/10, in ICT, Web. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Lisa, this blog is wonderful and once again you have saved the day!

    I have been looking for a tool like this for ages as saving images for my virtual classroom was becoming a nightmare with all the cutting, pasting, shaping and saving in publisher! Just gave jing a go and its so much simpler now!

    Now what to do with all my spare time??

  2. Awww … thank you! 🙂 Glad you liked it! Jing is fast heading to the top of my ‘most used’ list. I am using it for my virtual classrooms, staff ‘How 2’ sheets, student worksheets, my blog, twitter ….. the list goes on and on! When I tried to install it on my school laptop (C4T) though, I did encounter a few issues. I have an alternate download file that I can send you if you have any troubles installing it at school. Let me know if you need it.

    Enjoy relaxing with all that spare time ;o)

Leave a Reply

